P. Hills names most beautiful properties

By Kelly White

Palos Hills has announced the award recipients of the city’s 5th annual Beautification Contest for residential and business properties.

Residential properties judged most beautiful for 2012 belong to the Fencels, the Spiroses, the Goyers, the Demopoulases and the Olsons (1st Ward); the Newtoffs, the Rices, the Kellys, the Kimmeys and the Gasiors (2nd Ward); the Kinas the Zaryckis, the Haralambouses, the Novaks and the Stempinskis (3rd Ward); the Crosbys, the Riskuses, the Pigozzos, the Figuses and the O’Briens (4th Ward); and the Pacuras, the Baileys, the Liverises and the Rymszas (5th Ward).

Businesses that received awards are the Village Pub of Palos Hills, 9750 Roberts Road; Bank of America, 10260 Roberts Road; Bertucci’s Corner Restaurant, 10331 Roberts Road; Belvedere Chateau Banquets, 8055 W. 103rd St.; Stagg High School, 8015 W. 111th St.; Tisoncik Family Dental Care, 9700 Roberts Road; Moraine Valley Community College, 9000 West College Pkwy.; McDonald’s, 11050 Southwest Hwy.; and New Beginnings Church, 11111 Roberts Road.

Palos Hills City Council Beautification Committee Chairman and Alderman Martin Kleefisch, Resource and Recreation Department director Mary Jo Vincent and Alderman Joan Knox (1st Ward), with the help volunteer judges Nancy Stratinski, Danielle Bell, Cheryl Shumake, Maureen Selke and Maureen Crosby, narrowed down the nominees and chose the award recipients. Judging took place from July 5 through 26 and was based on general appearance of buildings, fencing and edging; and landscaping — particularly lawns, shrubs, color accents, evergreens and trees. Judging and focused solely on front and side yards.

“I would like to send my compliments and gratitude out to everyone who was part of this contest, because what you do with your home encourages other people to do the same thing with theirs and everyone who lives in our beautiful city benefits from that,” Kleefisch said at the City Council’s meeting on Nov. 1. “Congratulations to all of the winners.”